The Coldmail that KO'ed the recession to land me 4 offers!!

The Coldmail that KO'ed the recession to land me 4 offers!!

·

2 min read

Yes, the title is not a typo, but an actual thing that I was able to accomplish during the times of layoffs happening, but what were the important points I covered while messaging recruiters??

Well, worry not, here are the important points I covered!

  • Introduction:

Everyone knows this, but not everyone follows this, a proper introduction mentioning yourself along with why you're fit for the role, as well as why you're interested in the company can make any recruiter read the entire message!

  • Mentioning the Proof of Work:

Here try to mention the work experience you've done during your tenure with specific companies. The brownie points here are mentioning some links like Playstore links, or app store links of the company apps where you were a key person in development along with what you did during the development phase.

(For Freshers, you can include internship experience or the projects you've worked on)

  • Showing the Proof of Work:

Now this is the part that shows the recruiter your skills, and they love to see your actual work(live links) and also how you wrote the actual code(source code links). So do attach your GitHub repository along with the portfolio website which contains most of your projects

  • Conclusion:

Although, the way you would like to end up the message depends on you as an individual, try including the job link where you saw the opening, so that it's easier for the hiring manager or the recruiter to consider you!

  • Bonus point:

You can expect a faster reply in case of mentioning that you're on notice period or already holding some offers!

  • Example:

  • Greetings,

    I saw xyz advertisement to fill the role of SDE. I’m interested in the job. It is something I’m passionate about. Rather than just sending you my CV, I decided to send you my portfolio and source code. This work will hopefully show you why I would be a great candidate for the job(Add more here)

    I have worked as a Software Developer at ...(Write your exp here)

    You can access my Portfolio and source code via,

    https://sams-hub-profile.netlify.app/

    https://github.com/SaMs-Hub/

    I was able to find the JD via,

    (Link)

    I’d love to schedule a time to discuss my suitability for the role within the next fortnight.

    (I’m currently serving a notice period)

    Sincerely,

    Shafi Khan,

    (mail),

    +(phone)